DEAR READER:

Are you looking to choose a school?

Admissions Pathway helps you research schools in-depth so you can choose a school with confidence. Start now and receive:

  • Exclusive access to meetings with admissions officers, current parents, alumni, and other school insiders
  • Step-by-step guidance, informed by our 23 years of helping families improve the quality of their research
  • Insights from current parents about what they wish they had known before choosing a school

Starts September 21, 2020. Space is limited, don't miss out.

DEAR READER: Are you choosing a school for September 2021?

Get exclusive access to meetings with admissions officers, current parents, and alumni. Learn what other parents wish they had known before choosing a school.

Admissions Pathway helps you research schools in-depth so you can choose a school with confidence.

Starts September 21, 2020. Space is limited, don't miss out.

Yes, I want free access

Reviews of The Giles School — Teaching


Submit a Review

All reviews    Parents   
Nadia King - Parent   (Sep 12, 2019)

Our children attended The Giles School over a 5 year period and I cannot say enough about the incredible education, individualized attention and social skills that they obtained while at the School. We have two children with very different personalities, strengths and interests and the faculty were able to quickly understand their needs and helped them become lifelong learners. As the students are encouraged to try new things, they often operate 2 years above their grade level and can speak 3 different languages (English, French and Mandarin) by the time they are in Grade 1. The small class sizes, individualized attention and positive reinforcement allow for the children to thrive. Any educational concerns or hurdles a child may face are quickly addressed by the staff and escalated to the principal, if required.

View full review

A Cheung - Parent   (May 21, 2020)

Our child learns joyfully and satisfactorily with her teachers, despite her zero French ability. The teachers are professional and able to break their instructions into simple words and different levels to help students to understand what is taught and asked of them. Our child started with simple French words and sentences, and in three months amid Covid-19, she is still fond of learning French. Our child, certainly, has improved a lot with all the help from the teaching team. While our child has strong Maths skills, we find it amazing that her class teacher has noticed it. She modified the level of the materials and allowed our child to move on with the level she can cope with, thus our child is highly motivated to learn and has felt the affirmation from the teachers.

View full review

Lianne Assal - Parent   (May 21, 2020)

The teachers at The Giles School are phenomenal. They take their roles as educators very seriously. They care deeply about the wellbeing of each and every student. They maintain a disciplined classroom conducive to learning. They are somehow able to move the children quickly through an advanced curriculum while maintaining a positive and loving classroom environment. As a result, the children are confident in their abilities. I am always amazed at what my children are learning at school. My children also love and respect all of their teachers. They feel comfortable approaching them with their concerns or problems. They know that the teachers have their best interests at heart. The teachers also communicate regularly with parents so there are no surprises.

View full review

Lauren Dade - Parent   (May 21, 2020)

Both of my children are learning all their subjects to a very high level (including Mandarin, which we don't speak at all at home). It is amazing to me that my children are fluent in English, French, as well as having Mandarin classes where they learn reading, writing, and speaking. The teachers are all amazingly dedicated. I have been with the school for many years, so it's not to say that they have not had some teachers that turned out not to be a good fit, but when that happens, the administration immediately steps in to take appropriate steps to improve the situation - and as such things are not left to fester. The children LOVE to learn, and love and respect their teachers. With this being a small school with relatively small class sizes, children have many opportunities to engage with their teachers and receive extra support should they need it. The instruction is excellent, as evidenced by the overall high performance of the students on the standardized Canadian Test of Basic Skills (often 2-3 grades ahead). In these times of Covid-19, the administration and teaching staff have done a FANTASTIC job of engaging students and continuing to not only have the children learning, but to have their learning move forward! My child is having face to face online classes, and building her offline learning independence. She is more independent in her schooling and organizes her learning experience. The teachers have not only picked up all the technology pieces for video conferencing and online teaching, they continue to engage the children both intellectually and emotionally.

View full review

Golnar Elgammal - Parent   (Jun 02, 2020)

By far, the biggest asset of the Giles School is its incredibly dedicated teachers. In addition to being very knowledgable and well trained, they care deeply for their students and this is evident by the quality of their teaching as well as their commitment to help their students succeed. They communicate with parents if there are any struggles that need to be addressed so as a parent, I never have to wonder if my son is meeting expectations. They are also able to increase the level of challenge for students who are in need of more. Most importantly, the teachers are always available to discuss with parents and questions or concerns that we have. They are accommodating, understanding and compassionate. My personal experience with the teachers at the Giles School has left me feeling like each of them is personally invested in my son's success.

View full review

Brenda Lee - Parent   (Jul 14, 2020)

Like any school, there are some teachers that you and your kids will work better with than others. However, all teachers do really make an effort to communicate with parents, listening and responding to individual needs of each child. And it really helps when teachers are frequently available and responsive. On the advice of one of his teachers in the 2nd grade, my son was evaluated and diagnosed with ADHD at the end of 2nd grade and the start of 3rd grade. His teachers have continued to challenge him academically, but always keeping in mind his unique challenges, adapting and supporting his individual needs. Since classes are small, all the children get plenty of attention. It has been really rewarding to see both my kids flourishing with each passing year.

View full review

View all reviews (6) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

By logging in or creating an account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. By using this website, creating or logging into an Our Kids account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Please also see our Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.

You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.

Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.