DEAR READER:

Are you looking to choose a school?

Admissions Pathway helps you research schools in-depth so you can choose a school with confidence. Start now and receive:

  • Exclusive access to meetings with admissions officers, current parents, alumni, and other school insiders
  • Step-by-step guidance, informed by our 23 years of helping families improve the quality of their research
  • Insights from current parents about what they wish they had known before choosing a school

Starts September 21, 2020. Space is limited, don't miss out.

DEAR READER: Are you choosing a school for September 2021?

Get exclusive access to meetings with admissions officers, current parents, and alumni. Learn what other parents wish they had known before choosing a school.

Admissions Pathway helps you research schools in-depth so you can choose a school with confidence.

Starts September 21, 2020. Space is limited, don't miss out.

Yes, I want free access

Reviews of The Dragon Academy — Students


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
Sebastian Swarney - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

The student body was really an amazing part of my experience at Dragon. Not only where the people in my class amazing but through all of the grades students are great and are all willing to be part of a larger community.

View full review

Gideon Scanlon - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

The Dragon's kids do tend to be paler and better-off than the average child, though there are some accommodations made, and the school is distinctly more diverse than other Toronto private schools. Efforts are made to expose students with culturally diverse influences. The kids are, if my debaters are anything to go by, frighteningly intelligent, politically aware and kindly. There isn't much tolerance for malevolence and the school is fairly selective, so this is no just pride-fueled bias speaking. While they are not generally unusual, there is a tendency for them to look past the insignificant idiosyncrasies that might lead to bullying elsewhere.

View full review

Benjamin persofsky - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

The student body was a small but dedicated group. Quickly after arriving we became to have a similar relationship to that of a second family - Especially within my class. At other schools there are so many people, and people generally find a group that they fit in with... or they don't. At the Dragon Academy, while there are less students, everyone is there together and you don't need to find where you belong. Everyone tended to bring their own perspective, and both inside and outside of class we were able to share who we are and learn about others. In general students got along very well. Occasionally, there were disputes between students, but they were handled in an effective manner.

View full review

Bret Seifert-Pizzuti - Alumnus   (Apr 07, 2018)

The student body seemed small, accepting, and reasonably enthusiastic. Students naturally formed groups of friends but didn't deliberately exclude others. Most students were noticeably smart and some had learning challenges but were also intelligent. There were a mixture of ethnicities and socioeconomic backgrounds. My impression was that most students came from a comfortable or wealthier socioeconomic background but they were not pretentious or snobby. A particularly good point is that there were no severely-disrespectful or bullying students. The administration ensured that nothing egregious would happen in the student body; it ensured the student body remained a safe environment.

View full review

Tony Itchystitch - Alumnus   (Apr 09, 2018)

The student body is small, maybe even tiny, but it never felt less than all I need. I was surrounded by few peers, compared to other schools, but we had an incredible connection, even between years. Everyone was unique, quirky, and interesting. I woke up every morning excited to go see them. With each other's help, students very quickly found their interests. Many changed their mind, sometimes a lot. Everyone knew everyone. We didn't hold grudges for long, because we couldn't. We trusted each other and relied on each other. Things weren't always peachy, but that thread of trust ran through all of us. That dynamic is what first struck me when I visited in sixth grade. That's how I knew this was where I belonged.

View full review

Leah Walker - Alumnus   (Apr 08, 2018)

Dragon has a very small but very diverse student body, with students with interests in all areas, ranging from mathematics to theater. The small class sizes are arguably one of the keys to Dragon's success--it allows for a much more involved and, as I have said before, close knit feeling in the community. There is lots of interaction between grades. While all of this can sometimes mean that small arguments between individuals have a larger impact on a class as a whole, it also allows them to be resolved quicker, as no one is afraid to go to a teacher for help or advice. It is not only expected but required that students learn to respect and work with each other.

View full review

View all reviews (10) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

By logging in or creating an account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. By using this website, creating or logging into an Our Kids account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Please also see our Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.

You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.

Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.