ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of The Dragon Academy — School Location


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
Shanti Barclay - Parent   (Mar 29, 2018)

The location could not possibly be any better. The kids walk to the JCC for gym. They can buy lunch at Whole Foods, 3 minutes away. Often my son goes to the ROM for lunch (it is across the street and Dragons are members). St. George station is right there. My kids subway everywhere now and can use the subway to go to friends' houses in the Beaches or Forest Hill or High Park. The kids also use UofT facilities which I love because it demystifies university.

View full review

Kate Hilton - Parent   (Apr 02, 2018)

The school has the best location of any in Toronto. It is tucked on a quiet street around the corner from the ROM and U of T. Students have easy access to the TTC, along with some of the country's best cultural institutions, and centres of learning. The school makes great use of its location. Students spend time at concerts, plays, and exhibits. They have memberships at the JCC, just a few blocks away, and are encouraged to use it for fun and fitness. They are encouraged to be independent, and to walk out at lunchtime and find something interesting to eat. There are parks and coffee shops and public art installations just steps away. I love that the diversity of our city is part of student life at the Dragon.

View full review

Sebastian Swarney - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

I wish I could give a higher rating than 10. Dragon is really located in the best location for a school. Right at St George Station it's in a super central location and there is so much to do around the school both for academics and for fun.

View full review

Gideon Scanlon - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

The school is in a lovely place just north of the ROM in Yorkville. The students are free to roam during their lunches, and regular school trips are taken to the many nearby museums. The neighbourhood is safe, leafy and pleasant.

View full review

Benjamin persofsky - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

The school is in a great neighborhood, where it is safe and centrally located. Beyond that the school really takes advantage of their location. We use local parks, have classes at the Royal Ontario Museum, AGO, and other prominent buildings in the city. The school is very close to the subway, allowing for commuters from across the city, and making the possibility of Toronto centered fieldtrips significantly more feasible.

View full review

Bret Seifert-Pizzuti - Alumnus   (Apr 07, 2018)

The location was great. It's a 3 minute walk from the St. George stop so it's accessible by subway without having to take a bus. It's about a 15 minute walk from the ROM so that made frequent trips there possible. Students frequently went out on lunch break or after school. The community seemed safe and decent though traffic was busy (but the pros of being downtown there FAR outweigh the traffic)

View full review

Casey Samii - Student   (Apr 07, 2018)

The school is located near the Royal Ontario Museum, the University of Toronto, many restaurants, convenience stores, and coffee shops.

View full review

Leah Walker - Alumnus   (Apr 08, 2018)

Being in downtown Toronto is definitely of benefit to Dragon. It is near the ROM, the AGO, U of T, OCAD, Ryerson, etc.. The school has a wide range of activities that involve these institutions, and there are frequent school-wide field trips all over the city. I spent both years at Dragon volunteering at Ryerson's school of Urban and Regional Planning, in a small research project, which I was connected to through Dragon's Scientists in Action program. There are cafes and cinemas nearby, which was always wonderful for after school fun with friends. Additionally, as someone who had never used public transit on their own prior to attending Dragon, commuting from Oakville helped me become much more independent and confident.

View full review

Tony Itchystitch - Alumnus   (Apr 09, 2018)

The school location is excellent. It's a stone's throw from the St. George station. It's a few minutes' walk from UofT, and the ROM, both of which we've taken more than a few field trips to. There are lots of places nearby to grab food, and a few parks around, which are nice places to have lunch. It's also a short walk to Yorkville, on the other side of Avenue road. There are lots of nice places to eat, or relax, or just walk around, if you enjoy that as much as my friends and I do. We spent many a lunch and many a spare exploring the neighborhood, walking through Philosopher's Walk, going up and down Yonge, wandering the small streets. We rarely took the same path twice.

View full review

Randa Higazy - Student   (Apr 12, 2018)

I tend to stay at school throughout the course of the day. There are always study spaces for you to find time to work around school but the location make it so that you also always have things around you. When I go off campus, I enjoy going to the various parks close to the school, for a walk down Bloor street, or to visit the Royal Ontario Museum.

View full review

View all reviews (10) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2019 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.