ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of The Dragon Academy — School Leadership


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
Shanti Barclay - Parent   (Mar 29, 2018)

Dragon has a great communication system between admin/staff/student and parents. The teachers and principle are totally approachable via email, phone or in person.I have not had any problems with the school and I have 3 kids there. The environment is indescribable. The students are respectful and kind to each other. There are no uniforms but on a class trip with all different schools, you can pick out a Dragon. They will be the kids who are dressed to their own tune, are confident but not boastful and they are no "inner circles" of jocks, mean girls etc.

View full review

Kate Hilton - Parent   (Apr 02, 2018)

The school leadership at the Dragon is extraordinary. I have rarely met an educator as passionate as Dr. Fox, and her personal commitment to each of her students is inspiring. Similarly, the teaching staff are deeply engaged in the welfare of each student, and in the creation of a culture that is welcoming to all. The Dragon is designed for 'gifted non-conformists'. This informs all of the activity at Dragon, both inside the classroom and beyond. Kids are allowed to experiment and to fail. They are taught to harness their boundless enthusiasm and passion in constructive ways, whether is it in the formation of a club, or in the design of an experiment. The school is extremely responsive to problems as they arise. Discipline is compassionate and appropriate.

View full review

Gideon Scanlon - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

While my previous school very much framed life around strict rules, one of the most charming aspects of the Dragon is how much you are allowed to do. Want to start a team or club? Do it. The staff will support you, but you will soon learn that good ideas need self-discipline to succeed. Want to explore the room-like passage behind the knee-broken plaster? No, that is a safety issue. I know from experience, that doing so will land you in the principals office. Discipline is an interesting issue at the Dragon. The school is not one well-tailored for those who lack it, however, when situations may be learned from -- poor decision-making and youthful japes -- they are handled with understanding.

View full review

Sebastian Swarney - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

The administration and leadership at Dragon was amazing. Not only where teachers nice and welcoming but we always had an open and honest dialogue with teachers about what they needed from us and what we needed from them.

View full review

Benjamin persofsky - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

When I attended the Dragon Academy I felt I was situated in a positive and caring environment. I felt comfortable to go to the faculty with any problems I was having, because I know that we were on the same team. Together, we were able to accomplish more than I could alone. Their was great comradery amongst the students, and while we may have disagreeing opinions in classes, we were able to learn to deal with these differences and keep them seperate from our feelings. It was great training for the world beyond school.

View full review

Bret Seifert-Pizzuti - Alumnus   (Apr 07, 2018)

The leadership was effective, responsive and fair. In my experience this was a result of the individual staff member's commitment to the learning environment, the school's inclusive and fair philosophy, and the student to staff ratio that is manageable and thus avoids bureaucratic arbitrariness, delays and unfairness. All the teachers and the principal were approachable and capable of resolving problems. What stood out in my mind was how effective the leadership (and especially the principal) was at making sure students felt they were treated fairly while also preventing toxic dynamics in the students and/or dealing with problematic behaviors that negatively effect other students. To say that it was miles better than the public system in this regard would be an understatement.

View full review

Casey Samii - Student   (Apr 07, 2018)

The school leaders are very capable for such a small school. The Dragon Academy receives new teachers quite often. Each teacher brings something interesting to contribute to the school. Although the school has made some large changes in the past years, the passion for learning has not changed.

View full review

Tony Itchystitch - Alumnus   (Apr 09, 2018)

Every teacher was almost always ready for a student to walk into their office in need of help. I never felt disrespected or discouraged from approaching any of the teachers or the staff body. We were all close to the staff body and had a personal relationship with each teacher. I can't speak for every student, and I was never directly involved in any discipline issues, so I can only speak second hand. The staff body addressed issues as quickly as possible. They held weekly staff meetings to discuss every issue, as well as every class, grade, and student. Their meetings went as long as they had to. Parents and students were always kept in the loop, and parents were just as welcome to approach teachers as the students.

View full review

Leah Walker - Alumnus   (Apr 08, 2018)

During my time at Dragon, the conduct expected of students was made clear from day one. However, Dragon did not handle problems within the school through typical approaches such as detentions (except in very rare cases) but rather through calm discussion with the students involved. In my experience, due to the close relationship between the students and teachers, there was a general attitude of not wanting to disappoint them or the principal, Dr. Fox. This fostered a feeling of respect, and kept typical high school drama, especially in the higher grades, to a minimum. Dragon's administration is always very open to talking to parents and handling any academic issues quickly, with an emphasis on finding ways to learn that work for the student.

View full review

Randa Higazy - Student   (Apr 12, 2018)

I have the utmost respect for the school leaders, namely, the principal, the guidance counsellor, and the teachers. The school principal heavily supported me with my university and future career aspirations. In no other school I have attended does the school principal have such a close relationship with her students supporting them and pushing them to achieve their goals and dreams. The guidance counsellor played a pivotal role in my university application process helping every step of the way from choosing the career path to pursue to finding the universities to apply based on a variety of needs and preferences. The teachers at the Dragon Academy have made my school experience a very memorable one. My transition to university is greatly eased due to quality of teaching at the Dragon Academy.

View full review

View all reviews (10) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2019 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.