DEAR READER:

Are you looking to choose a school?

Admissions Pathway helps you research schools in-depth so you can choose a school with confidence. Start now and receive:

  • Exclusive access to meetings with admissions officers, current parents, alumni, and other school insiders
  • Step-by-step guidance, informed by our 23 years of helping families improve the quality of their research
  • Insights from current parents about what they wish they had known before choosing a school

Starts September 21, 2020. Space is limited, don't miss out.

DEAR READER: Are you choosing a school for September 2021?

Get exclusive access to meetings with admissions officers, current parents, and alumni. Learn what other parents wish they had known before choosing a school.

Admissions Pathway helps you research schools in-depth so you can choose a school with confidence.

Starts September 21, 2020. Space is limited, don't miss out.

Yes, I want free access

Reviews of Rosthern Junior College — Overall Experience


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Parents   
Tammy Forrester - Alumnus   (Nov 19, 2019)

Rosthern Junior College was the perfect stepping stone to independent thinking into adulthood. It’s a unique blend of academic education coupled with independent living under the guidance and rules set out by the school which prepared me for my future. I was left to my own devices to manage my time, my finances, my relationships and my education while being supported by the caring and watchful eye of a group of staff members that truly loved me. My parents were progressive thinkers in giving me the opportunity to attend this school knowing full well it was hard for them to let me go at the age of 15. Rosthern Junior College helped to grow in me a resilience that has been a key characteristic I have used in my adult life to get through trying and difficult times in relationships and professional decisions.

View full review

Crystal Lau - Alumnus   (Sep 26, 2018)

My overall experience at RJC was life changing. I always say that RJC has been the best years of my life, and it was most definitely one of the greatest gifts my parents gave me. It was not just any other school, it was not a building for you to go to classes, but it was an experience. You have to live through it, to grow and learn from it. RJC gave me the freedom, the tools, and the support to grow into the person I am today. Without RJC, I wouldn't have been as confident, I probably wouldn't have ran for an executive position at the University, and I wouldn't have gained the life skills I needed to be a young adult. The teachers and staff are more than just the people who worked at the building, they were educators, both in classrooms and in life. They have given me many gifts and helped my parents to be the parents for me, away from home. I have so much to thank them for, and I will continue to come back and give back to RJC, which I consider my second home. My university was great, but it was never the same as what RJC gave me, for the University was far too big for anyone to know everyone. RJC noticed me, RJC recognized me.

View full review

Patrick Laughlin - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

RJC gave me opportunities that no other school can offer. Not only did we learn in class, we learned life skills in the dorms, made connections with people from over the world. Upon graduation, I became part of a bigger community of alumni that shares the same experiences, fantastic memories, and gives us a foot in the door for opportunities later in life. Alumni are very supportive of freshly graduated students. I have seen alumni give graduates advance notice of places to rent in Saskatoon for school, post ads in the school about possible job opportunities, and many more tips and tricks to prepare graduates for after school life. RJC was the best thing I ever did. To me it is so much more than a school.

View full review

Jordan Wiens - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

My time at RJC was exceptional. Due to the small size of the school and the high ratio of teachers to students, my academic experience was very positive. One on one interaction with the teachers and staff allowed for a more personal connection, creating more intimacy in the classroom between students and faculty. Something that stands out to me is the amount of extracurricular time put in by the staff at the school. Nearly every staff member was involved in coaching a sports team or leading a choir or club. Regarding what I would change, during my tenure some of the facilities were dated, but since my graduation the labs have been renovated and further renovations of the building continue, improving the school's ability to function. If you enroll, you should expect lots of opportunities to get involved. There are many committees, sports teams, SRC, etc. to join that enhance your experience at the school.

View full review

Dayna Goerzen - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

Going to RJC was amazing, the best choice I made. I remember loving getting to live with my friends and building the strongest sense of community I’ve ever had. Living in the dorms was really fun and I made lifelong friendships. My grades at school also went up at least 10% while at RJC because the teachers actually care about you, how you do, and how you learn best. I also was able to study with peers in the dorms which helped a lot. The designated time each night for homework helped me to actually focus for a bit before going and having fun again. I also did better in sports, as well as in choir/musicals, because the teams are great and again they actually care about you doing well! The school prepared me for life in more practical ways than other schools would have.

View full review

Matthew Stefaniuk - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

Before going to Rosthern Junior College I was a very shy person and had a hard time making friends. Once I got to rjc that all changed, the atmosphere at the school made it possible for me to grow as a person and come out of my shell. The staff is incredibly supportive of all the students and guides you on your journey. Having the experience of living in dorms and being responsible for myself while still having others around to help guide me made the transition to university much easier than it would have been otherwise. When moving into the rjc school body a student should be prepared to grow into a more reasonable version of themselves and to have the opportunity to figure out who they want to be.

View full review

Emma Greenwald - Alumnus   (Oct 03, 2018)

RJC creates an environment of community. I felt like I belonged there. Everyone was friends. The class schedule is set up in a way that allows for time at the end of the day to study, do homework or ask your teachers for help. This was a bonus for me. There is many events through out the year, that help you get to know each other and have a little fun. There is a couple of events that get you out in the community and volunteering. They have an AlSO trip where you travel, and volunteer in a different community. I learned a lot about the world in my trip to Alabama. All in all RJC is a positive place to go, and teaches you a lot about the real world. It opened my own perspectives.

View full review

View all reviews (11) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

By logging in or creating an account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. By using this website, creating or logging into an Our Kids account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Please also see our Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.

You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.

Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.