ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of Rosthern Junior College — Extracurriculars


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Parents   
Tammy Forrester - Alumnus   (Nov 19, 2019)

The extracurricular opportunities from sport to music to drama give every student that attends the opportunity to participate. With a smaller student body every person can play a sport or two or three and be a member of a touring choir while playing a part of several dramas that are planned throughout the year. Students are encouraged to participate and get involved - try something new and be a part of a team.

View full review

Crystal Lau - Alumnus   (Sep 26, 2018)

I was in almost all the extracurriculars possible, I was in musical theatre, drama class, I joined all the choirs except the men's choir, I was in sports and even got to try out new sports (curling), I was on SRC... since it is a smaller school, we really had a lot of opportunities to join and be a part of these groups - we might not get these chances in a bigger school.

View full review

Nicole Arnold - Parent   (May 28, 2019)

I don't know if every student is expected to participate in as many extracurriculars as possible or if the kids have that much fun together that they want to do as many as they can. For example, is there another school out there where the football players are also in the choir? And choir members are on the football team? The school has all of the standard high school sports teams. It also boasts multiple choirs. Many drama, theatre and one musical production each year.

View full review

Patrick Laughlin - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

RJC had many extra curricular opportunities from choir and theatre, to hockey and football. Having facilities such as a rink, soccer and football fields, and a tennis court allowed students to go and enjoy being outdoors. Even those who did not play sports, sing, or act were able to participate. We would cheer on our teams, attend choir performances, watch plays, and support or friends. There was always opportunities for students to showcase their talents with coffeehouses, school wide game days and the ever popular pickup game of shinny in the rink.

View full review

Jordan Wiens - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

The quality of extracurriculars is outstanding at RJC. I believe it to be the strongest draw to the school. Previous to my arrival at the school, the choirs placed nationally at music festivals and during and after my time there, provincial championships were won in girls soccer, football, track, and badminton. The quality of the results is indicative of the leadership of these activities, as well as the environment to those participating to excel.

View full review

Johann Malan - Parent   (Oct 02, 2018)

An absolutely outstanding aspect of RJC is the time and energy dedicated to extracurricular activities and the way in which everyone is involved. For such a small school, they pack an enormous punch in all the sporting activities they’re involved in. RJC, of course, is renowned for their choirs and drama productions. The intimate nature of the school atmosphere and the pride fostered in the students, make it a remarkable experience to see the dogged determination with which the students participate in all events. We were always amazed at the way in which the staff arrange activities for the students after hours, making sure there’s fun on the menu.

View full review

Dayna Goerzen - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

There are a ton of extracurricular activity options at RJC, for every type of interest. There are competitive sports teams that are also lots of fun; some for people that want to succeed and others for just having fun. There are many choir opportunities (concert choir for everyone, an audition choir that tours, men's choir and women's choir) as well as theatre arts (yearly musicals that always draw a big crowd, theatre arts classes, winter theatres, etc.). There are dorm-events too such as Sam and Sadie Hawkins, girls/guys nights out each month, Christmas banquet, and more. You can join SRC (student representative council) or DC (dorm council) to plan some. There are various clubs like run club, a workout room, and more that change with the students interests. The students are encouraged to participate in as many as they want, but usually the students almost all want to do as many as possible anyways because that's the RJC spirit. RJC students are known to be very well-rounded individuals because of all the opportunities they're given.

View full review

Matthew Stefaniuk - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

The number of extracurricular activities at rjc is just incredible. The activities spans from competitive hockey, football, and volleyball teams, just to name a few, to just for fun activities that’s get the entire student body involved and talking to each other. A large number of the just for fun activities are student planned and run which means they are actually events that the student body enjoys and want to participate in.

View full review

Emma Greenwald - Alumnus   (Oct 03, 2018)

Everyone was encouraged to do one extracurricular per semester/season. No one was cut from the team, and everyone was allowed to participate, so there was no tryouts. The sports team was about working together and creating a bond. They did not put a huge emphasis on winning. They were happy whether we won or loss, and there was always people watching and cheering the games on no matter what. They had two times in the year where you could join theatre arts, everyone who auditioned got a part, and every part was seen as important

View full review

David Weiler-Thiessen - Parent   (Nov 19, 2019)

Rosthern Junior College offers a wide variety of activities and students are actively encouraged to participate. The vocal music program offers Concert Choir, a women's only choir, a men's only choir and an auditioned traveling choir. RJC has a tradition of performing a musical in the spring where anyone who is interested in participating is welcome. There are private voice and piano teachers available to students. Athletic offerings include: soccer, cross country, football, basketball, volleyball teams. Our kids participated in the the choirs, spring musical, soccer and cross-country. Students that want to participate in arts and athletics are encouraged to do so, and the schedule is setup to allow them to pursue their interests.

View full review

View all reviews (10) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2019 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.