ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of Ontario Virtual School — Students


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students    
Stephanie Sassi - Alumnus   (Nov 19, 2018)

All students were very accepting and respectful. The feedback and discussions from other students were helpful and useful. All of my friends who have participated in courses provided from my school have all spoken positively about the school. All students were very helpful with peer questions and help. During discussions students were required to give feedback for other students. this helped the students give criticism to help make the students strive to do even better. Students were still respectful of others feelings during this time and made sure not to say anything rude or hurtful towards each others work. Many students I've noticed who have taken courses from this school were a lot less stressed out due to them doing there work whenever and wherever they'd like. This helped the students mental health and kept a positive welcoming environment.

View full review

Wajiha Fatima Syeda - Student   (Nov 22, 2018)

Ontario Virtual School is an online school, thus most things are done from the comfort of your own home or library or a cafe. This to me, came as a great blessing. As an adult student, I often had to juggle between work and school and it was almost next to impossible to do that with a traditional class setting. The great thing is, you can do your work ANYTIME. Be it 1 AM, or 1 PM, you set your own schedule and class time. In my opinion, the students who do best are the ones who know how to plan a schedule and then, follow that plan. Self-motivation and determination is BIG factor for success in Ontario Virtual School. Students who are not motivated or just cannot get out of bed unless there is a scheduled class time may struggle with the setting. Thus, the right mindset will do the trick!

View full review

ricky Randhawa - Student   (Jan 15, 2019)

Once again, this was online so I didn't physically interact with anyone. However, for my math class there were discussion boards. In these discussion boards I felt the students were nice and helpful. Sometimes if I had questions I was able to receive answers there. I was also able to provide other students with help if they ever needed it. In my opinion I feel anyone that likes to work at their own pace are best suited for this school. It gives you the ability to do just that. I just wish I had known about it earlier so that I could have done summer school here. This would have been better than waking up early in the morning and sitting in a class room for hours.

View full review

Amrit Sandhu - Alumnus   (Jan 16, 2019)

As Ontario Virtual School is an online school I cannot provide the parameters about the whole student body since I did not necessarily interact with students. However, I did interact with students in this course and different courses that I knew from places other than OVS. When considering only that group of individuals the ethnic background was mainly Indian and African American. They would hold values of respect towards their fellow instructors and peers. Students interacted mainly through online channels such as Facebook and the conversations would involve peers asking others about certain problem sets that they could not complete in order to get help. Peers would then help each other out if they could and if not the instructor was only an e-mail away.

View full review

Harsh Pall - Alumnus   (Jan 17, 2019)

The students at Ontario virtual school have a better chance at life. The teachers here help and understand each students individual needs. Students here helped each other and got along very well together. The typical student would benefit from going to this school. There are a lot of students who go to Ontario virtual school wherein the online forums which we would post our threads in we would see a huge volume of replies from other students. Many students here helped other students and gave feedback to other through peer to peer evaluations. The learning experience here is definitely great for students and the teachers are more than helpful.

View full review

Rachel Downard - Alumnus   (May 24, 2019)

OVS is an online school platform therefore I did not interact with other students in person. My main reason for joining Ontario Virtual School was because of the research I did prior to enrolling. I read many reviews from many online schools and felt like this one was the best fit for me. It was the best fit because I knew many other students who have enrolled in this school and enjoyed their experience. This brought me comfort knowing my fellow peers have also completed courses with this school. Knowing other students who have taken this course brought me a piece of comfort as well as a way to connect with other students who experienced the different way of learning online vs. in a traditional classroom.

View full review

Anne Balayboa - Alumnus   (Jan 21, 2020)

I cannot speak to other students because I did not meet any of them. However, based on the reviews on the actual school's website, I could tell that many of the students enjoyed their courses just as much as I enjoyed mine! I've seen many reviews from students in high school and also people like me who have previous post-secondary education and are trying to get back into a different program. I imagine that the student body is diverse as this is an online school and pretty much anyone of any race or any age can take it.

View full review

Pvitar Rai - Alumnus   (Mar 25, 2020)

The students at OVS have a better chance at life. The teachers here help and understand each student's individual needs. Students here helped each other and got along very well. The typical student would benefit from going to this school. There are a lot of students who go to OVS wherein the online forums which we would post our threads in - we could see a huge volume of replies from other students. Many students here helped other students and gave feedback to others through peer to peer evaluations. The learning experience here is definitely great for students and the teachers are more than helpful. I cannot speak to other students because I did not meet any of them. However, based on the reviews on the actual school's website, I could tell that many of the students enjoyed their courses just as much as I enjoyed mine! I imagine that the student body is diverse as this is an online school and pretty much anyone of any race or any age can take it.

View full review

Preet Birdi - Student   (May 22, 2020)

OVS is an online school allowing you to work at your own time and speed. This is very beneficial for students that have to juggle school work, extracurriculars, those who have a part-time job, and other responsibilities. This way, whenever the student gets time after a busy day they can work on their OVS course assignments. You can make your own schedule as well. One thing that is really important to be successful is to have self-motivation. With OVS being extremely supportive you get some motivation from them. Also, the right mindset is also very crucial. You have to be very productive and efficient as to how you work. Students who do not have self-motivation or the right mindset tend to struggle. Overall, everyone does feel included.

View full review

Prabhdeep Kaur - Alumnus   (Aug 06, 2020)

As it was online school, I cannot estimate the strength of the class. Although, an initiative made by OVS through forum session beaded the students in one thread where all of us got the opportunity to interact with each other. There are basically students from different countries majority of which are Canadians and Indians. Students discuss their views and ask peer questions related to their study. Everyone even being so far from each other is humble, caring and respectful towards one another. Futhermore, learners discuss answers to different question through different modes of communication and help their mates to understand different points. This creates a mutual understanding among students and creates an environment no less than a physical school. This diversity of students from different walks was a great experience of mine and all of my friends who joined OVS!

View full review

View all reviews (10) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2019 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.

You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.

Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.