Reviews of Ontario Virtual School — School Life


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students    
Stephanie Sassi - Alumnus   (Nov 19, 2018)

Overall the quality of this school was amazing. I loved to complete my work on my own schedule which was what i loved most about the school. Most of my friends that have taken courses from ontario virtual school have loved this school just as much as i did. They were passionate about what they learned and they weren't as stressed because they were on their own time schedule. Everyone was extremely engaged in all they were learning about.

View full review

Wajiha Fatima Syeda - Student   (Nov 22, 2018)

This question is not applicable to Ontario Virtual School as there is no walk-in campus. However, If I was to give more information about the school, I would give the visitors a tour of their website. It is made very user-friendly and the steps are easy to follow. The website also comes with a video which provides more information on the school and the process to get the due credits. There is also a section of frequently asked questions which cover a number of things related to Ontario Virtual School. There are also more reviews directly from the students on the website. Along with that, they have a built-in chat which is always available to answer any other questions about the school. There is also other ways to contact the school listed on the website.

View full review

ricky Randhawa - Student   (Jan 15, 2019)

This is an online school so I wouldn't really have anything to show anyone. I don't think having a physical location is beneficial for OVS. I think OVS is moving in the right direction with their online classroom. Considering where technology is at today, online classrooms will become more and more common. In university I take about 2-3 courses online because it saves me time from commuting to downtown Toronto. Aside from the commute, its much easier for me to login and complete my work, and work at my own pace. I feel I learn better when I read something and teach it to myself, rather than attending a lecture with 100 students who are disengaged from the lesson. This was a good learning experience for me.

View full review

Amrit Sandhu - Alumnus   (Jan 16, 2019)

The overall quality of student life at Ontario Virtual School is exceptionally well because the student is in control of almost everything. From most of my interactions with other students, the general consensus was that a majority of them were happy that they were enrolled at OVS. Similarly, students were rather passionate about learning because everything was dependent upon them, they had to learn the content themselves and schedule their own tests. They were given the proper materials to study from and follow so that they could learn. This would entice them to learn whenever they were free because it was a different learning experience than regular school while being much more organized. In addition, the students were not overwhelmed with stress because during the onsets of stress (i.e busy schedules and build up of due dates) students would simply postpone their learning until their schedule freed up.

View full review

Harsh Pall - Alumnus   (Jan 17, 2019)

I loved going to Ontario virtual school it’s the first school I felt respected and understood. If I could do it again I would definitely come back to this school. The students here were always happy and willing to learn because the atmosphere here is great! The school helped me develop me as a person and made me feel welcome they let me work at my own pace and did not rush me in anyway. They made sure I was happy with my work and they gave detail reasoning as to why we got that mark and what we could do to improve our marks next time. This is the only school who truly understands the need of their students and don’t judge you on how fast or slow you do your work.

View full review

Rachel Downard - Alumnus   (May 24, 2019)

Ontario Virtual School provided me with a unique student experience. Although it was strictly online and required no in-person interactions, the online learning environment allowed me to reflect on my strengths and weaknesses as a student. It attracts like minded students who want to challenge themselves to learn in a different way. I found that I was engaging in a deeper level of learning as I would have to go through and ensure I was genuinely understanding the material. I noticed that along with myself and other students who I knew that were enrolled in Ontario Virtual School, they often felt less stressed than our peers as we could complete the course at our own pace. It made it easier to balance extracurriculars and school and allowed me to feel in control of my education and progression as a student.

View full review

Anne Balayboa - Alumnus   (Jan 21, 2020)

I appreciated the fact that this school was very flexible. I was able to write tests at 3 am if I desired! I work a full time job, so it would be difficult for me to go to a physical class with a fixed time schedule. The Ontario virtual school helped me out greatly with that. Because of this flexibility, I believe that the student's overall life is not hampered by the time schedule since each course is given a max of one year to finish. I did like attending this virtual school, it is a cool experience to have, in my opinion. If you are the type of person who does not have the time to attend regularly scheduled classes, then this school would be perfect for you!

View full review

Pvitar Rai - Alumnus   (Mar 25, 2020)

I loved going to Ontario Virtual School it’s the first school I felt respected and understood. If I could do it again I would definitely come back to this school. The students here were always happy and willing to learn because the atmosphere here is great! The school helped me develop me as a person and made me feel welcome. They also let me work at my own pace and did not rush me in any way. They made sure I was happy with my work and they gave a detailed report/reasoning as to why we got that mark and what we could do to improve our marks next time. This is the only school who truly understands the need of their students and don’t judge you on how fast or slow you do your work in traditional terms.

View full review

Preet Birdi - Student   (May 22, 2020)

Since OVS is an online school, there is no tour available. However, I would give an online tour of the website which would be the student's classroom. To begin with, the website is very easy to use and follow. One gets the gist of it within the first day of use. At the very beginning of the course, there are short videos demonstrating how the website works which you can always reference back to if you forget something. There is also a section of frequently asked questions which is also very helpful as they cover many things related to OVS. There is also a built-in chat center where you can also ask a staff member for help or guidance. Additionally, you can always contact OVS by calling them.

View full review

Prabhdeep Kaur - Alumnus   (Aug 06, 2020)

OVS provided a unique and amazing experience. Although being online there was no physical interaction but communicating online with students and faculty was great. If I ever get an opportunity to visit OVS, I would cosider it my fortune to meet such inspiring teachers. The best thing was that dates for the tests are not fixed either, rather students decide the date when they are confident to give it. It really enhanced my self-judgement skills and prepared me to study independently. Teaching in a positive and inspiring manner always made students willing to learn. A flexible timetable prevents students from hectic schedule and allows them to do at their own pace without any stress. It is really appreciated by all the students in this school.

View full review

Sarah Finkle - Student   (Oct 06, 2020)

Due to the fact that it was an online course the campus and school life was really up to you. You could do it anywhere provided you have a reliable internet connection. The teachers are also very accommodating to potential hiccups with technology. I went away while completing the course and it worked fine. They were very accommodating when I did not have all the resources to send the exam right after I wrote it and were very helpful when I had trouble submitting assignments and allowed me to submit them via email instead of the dropbox where they would normally go. In conclusion I think that this school is a good choice for anyone looking to do some remote learning.

View full review

View all reviews (11) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

By logging in or creating an account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. By using this website, creating or logging into an Our Kids account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Please also see our Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.

You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.

Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.