ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of Briercrest Christian Academy — Teaching


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
Maria Tunall - Student   (Feb 13, 2018)

the teachers really do ask a lot, especially when there is full course load students. it sets our school apart as prestigious, but it’s quite a lot to ask especially with extra cricculars. you’re getting next level education, as well as the opportunity to take college classes your graduation year with a discounted price.

View full review

Emily Alexander - Student   (Jan 24, 2018)

depending on the teacher, their expectations vary. some of my past teachers were really easygoing in their personality but strict in there questions and criteria and others were serious in personality and didn't expect much for work. i don't think that teachers at CHS ask enough of the students. comparing it to my past high school where i was previously at, the workload was cut down by 3/4. i was surprised when i came here the first year and all i had to do was complete a couple textbook assignments for math and i was done. Even though the workload was changed drastically, i still got the highest percentage I've ever gotten in math. its what they cover in the course that really counts. sometimes i'm unaware what my teachers are expecting of me because they don't make themselves clear on what they want to be done on assignments. my teachers talk to us about succeeding and they relate it to Christianity. this is good because they want you to continue on with a christian faith after you leave school but for some people its not relate-able.

View full review

Rachel Leduc - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

The teaching is amazing here, they expect a lot of you as well as give you lots of work, but they always give reasonable time to do it, as well as being understanding when you have to ask for a time Extension on a project. The teaching is definitely a little quicker than the last school I was in, but it’s actually nice to know that they believe in us and that we can handle it. There are lots of amazing courses to pick from. There is also these courses you can do that are put on by a program called correspondence, which you are able to do the course in your own free time, so during spares or after school, They are intense but so worth it in the end.

View full review

Jaidyn Katzell - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

I think the teachers here ask a fair amount of each student. The work load is even in most classes and teachers expect the same thing from all students. They are very reasonable with the work load but each class piled on top of eachother is a lot of work. When teachers talk about success, I picture passing classes and getting into the field of work that we are aiming for. Also, graduating high school with more credits than needed is what I see when I picture the meaning success from a teacher. At my old school, we were offered “Advanced Math” and “Advanced English” classes which were optional for people who thought that regular classes were slow. I know lots of people in my classes are fast learners and some are really slow. To have an option like this would be great so that teachers can have even expectations for students.

View full review

Eden Brown - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

Some of our teachers such as Mrs. Crocker, and Mr. Sowden outline extremely well how they want projects done. Mr. Bell on the other hand outline what he wants vaguely and so it makes it extremely hard to study for tests and it makes it very difficult to write essays for him. English is my top subject, yet since he (Mr. Bell) doesn't outline what he wants, I cannot write well or perform well on tests. This ends up giving me a bad mark, and leaving me more confused about writing, instead of actually teaching me to be a better writer. One of our teachers named Mr. Sowden is very good at outlining what will make us successful in his class, where as the other teachers rarely talk out how we can do succeed with them. I wish the teachers would outline specifically how we can improve and what will be important to remember for tests. One of our teachers named Mr. Hoimyr is very good at keeping us ingaged in his class and making the class as exciting and interesting as possible.

View full review

Maia Fawcett - Student   (Jan 31, 2018)

I think our teachers ask enough of us to make it a good challenge but not too hard that it is impossible to complete. Yes I feel that I know what the teacher are expecting of me because they make it really important to emphasize those types of goals. When my teachers talk about success I think know what I'm completely capable of success and it won't be all that hard because they can agree on the plans I have laid down for myself.

View full review

Jenaya Langman - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

I believe the teachers do a great job of teaching and helping the students to be successful. Teachers are not too hard on the students, but they do care about the students doing well at the same time. The teachers expectations on assignments are outlined and clear and they will help you if you need more clarification. When the teachers talk about success I think they are fair, and realize that everyone is different and cannot achieve the same grades or have the same standards. The teachers want students to try, and to learn and develop skills. Teachers can also work with students towards their individual goals.

View full review

Taylor Doerksen - Student   (Feb 13, 2018)

I feel like the school makes college seem more realistic as they work load is a lot more. The school day is also pretty long and they don’t give too much class time for homework or school work so there is a lot of homework. I think they want us all to succeed and they make it clear that doing school work and using class time properly is a way to achieve this. They don’t slack on their students and it makes me also feel more responsible and reliable for my work instead of never having any homework. It gives me a sense of responsibility that I have to do this or I will get marks taken off. It’s a realistic amount of work considering that that’s how it is going to be when we go to university

View full review

View all reviews (21) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.