DEAR READER:

Are you looking to choose a school?

Admissions Pathway helps you research schools in-depth so you can choose a school with confidence. Start now and receive:

  • Exclusive access to meetings with admissions officers, current parents, alumni, and other school insiders
  • Step-by-step guidance, informed by our 23 years of helping families improve the quality of their research
  • Insights from current parents about what they wish they had known before choosing a school

Starts September 21, 2020. Space is limited, don't miss out.

DEAR READER: Are you choosing a school for September 2021?

Get exclusive access to meetings with admissions officers, current parents, and alumni. Learn what other parents wish they had known before choosing a school.

Admissions Pathway helps you research schools in-depth so you can choose a school with confidence.

Starts September 21, 2020. Space is limited, don't miss out.

Yes, I want free access

Reviews of Briercrest Christian Academy — Teaching


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
LOREE BUCK - Parent   (Jan 30, 2018)

I have always felt that CHS is the equivalent to the higher level of schooling found in special schools in other provinces where high achievers are sent. Our connection and opportunities with Briercrest College and their faculty provides a unique setting that raises the bar. Our teachers ARE passionate about their subjects and want to convey that to their students. My kids didn't always catch the passion, but definitely recognized it in their teachers, and were impressed by it. Our online course management system is used inconsistently across the teacher group and therefore not used to its fullest potential. Some teachers use it to include all upcoming assignments with due dates right at the start of the semester - providing a tool whereby students and parents can plan ahead. Other instructors only put this information into the system after the due date has passed and they are preparing to enter the marks of the completed assignments. Some are reluctant to use due dates at all, because they allow this date to float quite a bit. The inconsistency has caused frustration for some of our kids, and complacency in others about what is expected in the school work. Our kids who were up to the challenge, chose to take college level courses during their high school time. This was very enriching. On the other end of the scale, i felt like the term average was overused, and given as a reason to not explore avenues of assistance/limitations that could be provided.

View full review

Cheryl Hepworth - Parent   (Feb 23, 2018)

Before my child attended this school the feed back she would give me about many of the teachers was not positive. Now she loves going to school and never says anything negative about the teachers. I'm very happy with the teachers.

View full review

Latricia Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)

The teachers at Caronport High School seem to be very passionate about the subjects they teach. My son enjoys the instructors and the classes at the school. The staff provides parental access to my child's grades, so that we know if there are any issues that need to be addressed.

View full review

Andrea Walker - Parent   (Apr 05, 2018)

The instruction at Caronport High School is of high quality. The teachers are caring and go out of their way to help our son succeed. They know about their subject areas and are generally adept at communicating what their requirements are for assignments. Feed back could be more effective. Our son has received the support that he has needed.

View full review

Vangie Brown - Parent   (Jan 23, 2018)

We believe that we get our money's worth when it comes to the teaching staff at CHS. We are very happy with the quality of what is taught. The teachers are knowledgeable and provide a wide variety of learning opportunities for our kids. Our children work hard in school and are rewarded with good grades which proves to me that they are being taught concepts well. I appreciated the teachers in Grade 11 (Miss Klip) and 12 (Mrs. Poettcker) who taught my son to write drafts of his papers and gave him feedback after each draft. Mr. Peters and Mrs. Crocker were also mentioned as providing feedback that was helpful. Both my children are challenged in the classroom and the assignments and projects that are given often amaze me in the creative options that are offered.

View full review

Debbie Jensen - Parent   (Jan 20, 2018)

We were very happy with the quality of instruction. The teachers were passionate about the subjects they taught & were very willing to give extra support & instruction as needed. They learned to think critically rather than be “spoon-fed”.

View full review

LeaAnne Ramer - Parent   (Jan 31, 2018)

I believe that my child is being pushed and taught appropriately. Communication could be more but I'm not too concerned. The teachers are wonderful.

View full review

Mark Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)

Excellent teachers and instruction. Very well prepared for next stage of life and options for challenges with the college being right there.

View full review

View all reviews (21) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

By logging in or creating an account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. By using this website, creating or logging into an Our Kids account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Please also see our Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.

You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.

Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.