DEAR READER:

Are you looking to choose a school?

Admissions Pathway helps you research schools in-depth so you can choose a school with confidence. Start now and receive:

  • Exclusive access to meetings with admissions officers, current parents, alumni, and other school insiders
  • Step-by-step guidance, informed by our 23 years of helping families improve the quality of their research
  • Insights from current parents about what they wish they had known before choosing a school

Starts September 21, 2020. Space is limited, don't miss out.

DEAR READER: Are you choosing a school for September 2021?

Get exclusive access to meetings with admissions officers, current parents, and alumni. Learn what other parents wish they had known before choosing a school.

Admissions Pathway helps you research schools in-depth so you can choose a school with confidence.

Starts September 21, 2020. Space is limited, don't miss out.

Yes, I want free access

Reviews of Briercrest Christian Academy — Teaching


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
Chiante Guretzki - Alumnus   (Jan 23, 2018)

The teachers were absolutely wonderful. The education at CHS is extremely high and it has definitely helped me going forward into college. I have who have gone to other schools and commented on how easy the work is in other schools compared to CHS. The academics were very high level. The teachers and students got along very well in and out of class. In class, most of the dynamic is teacher and student, but there are many moments when the teachers invite students to participate and interact which brings the formality down and allows students to speak up and share their insights. The respect from both parties was evident and humour is not uncommon in classes. The atmosphere the teachers model is one of passionate learning and growing in a way that feels fun and connective to real life as opposed to a stiff facts and figures only type of learning. The teachers all brought different teaching methods to class giving each student and learning style a chance to thrive. If there is ever any issue, teachers are always willing to discuss how they can help solve the issue or help the student troubleshoot the problem. The teachers were knowledgeable in their subjects and often would do further research if they were unsure of something a student inquired about and return to the idea once they learned more. All the teachers marked fairly and according to the rubrics they provided for assignments. Expectations for specifics of assignments were always clear and easy to understand. My teachers definitely fostered my love of learning and knowledge through their encouragement and own passion of their subjects. Nothing inspires me more than a teacher who loves what they do so badly wants you to understand why they love what they love so much and challenge you to discover that same love. Each of my teachers had an incredible impact on me and my education. I think particularly, Mr. Bell and his history classes really brought history to life by not just teaching facts and figures, but by challenging me to think about the facts as well as the emotions, motivations, and issues that appear from the decisions made in the past. In the same way, Miss Klipp taught me my favourite classes, pushed me to write stronger, better essays, and showed me the utmost importance of empathy when reading, when studying, when interacting with people in my life and people not in my life. She showed me the beauty and wonderful complexities of English and Shakespeare. Mrs. Ike took me under her wing in a sense. She pushed me in creative writing to try new things that were hard and difficult. She inspired me and taught me how to write in new ways. She always had extra time to spend with students like me who wanted to further the things we were doing in class in our personal time. Students coming into CHS should know that you won't be able to leave CHS without a teacher coming alongside you while you study and work, but also leave with you by encouraging you to take on the world in new and innovative ways.

View full review

Liam Tieszen - Alumnus   (Feb 23, 2018)

I loved the teachers. They were supportive in our learning and cared for us. One of my favorite classes was Mr. Peters math class. He joked around with us but taught us so much as well. Mr. Sowden did not have a huge impact on me, but I could see how he impacted others. My respect for these two are very great and I'm glad they were my teachers.

View full review

Kyron Hoimyr - Alumnus   (Jan 23, 2018)

I was very happy with the teachers (one was my dad so can't say anything to bad). I never considered myself a good student with English nor history but i felt that the instructors were very good and encouraging enabling me to do much better than i could have done anywhere else. I was challenged and pushed to do better in all my classes. Teachers were all very approachable and wanted to make sure you understood the material. Everyone knows math can be a dull subject, but the teacher they had for math was hilarious, he made going to math a delight. A lot of students favorite class was math all due to his teaching. His lessons were clear and the class had a great time due to his since of humor.

View full review

Barbara Potts - Alumnus   (Feb 13, 2018)

The teachers are amazing, very professional and yet truly care about the students and the lives they live. They understand that highschool is no easy task. They do their jobs and do it well, to the best of their abilities. They certainly go above and beyond what other teachers would at another school.

View full review

Britten Banerjee - Alumnus   (Jan 24, 2018)

The teaching was very strong in all areas of academia. The teachers were very professional but often kept the relationship between themselves and students very informal. They did inspire learning in many areas. In particular the, now retired, Mr. Reed was especially good at teaching with passion and caring for his students.

View full review

View all reviews (21) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

By logging in or creating an account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. By using this website, creating or logging into an Our Kids account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Please also see our Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.

You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.

Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.