ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of Briercrest Christian Academy — Academics


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
LOREE BUCK - Parent   (Jan 30, 2018)

Academically, with the connection to the College, i feel that the bar is definitely high. The quality of instruction at the high school and college level is exceptional for the high school students. Generally, there is no lack of academic challenge - just sometimes the student is lacking in the verve to step up to the challenge. This year was the first time we experienced a required course that was not offered in the classroom, requiring our child to complete it online, with an offsite instructor. The first term was coming to a close when we finally received an email that there had not been any submissions for almost two months. If it hadn't been for this online course experience, i would have been able to completely agree that ALL of our children would be able to jump off their experience at CHS, fully prepared for their life's next steps. The rating WOULD have been a 9-10, except for this.

View full review

Cheryl Hepworth - Parent   (Feb 23, 2018)

A Law and Accounting class would be an asset. But I really feel the academic programs are diverse enough to open many doors of opportunity down the road.

View full review

Latricia Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)

Caronport High School offers challenging classes and meets the requirements for high school graduation in Saskatchewan. Although there are no Advanced Placement classes, students can enroll in classes at Briercrest College. The only complaint we have is that there are no foreign language classes offered. Caronport High School has strong academics and a positive school climate. We believe that CHS is adequately preparing our son for university.

View full review

Andrea Walker - Parent   (Apr 05, 2018)

The academic program fulfills the academic requirements needed to graduate high school and sets our son on course for a career. There is a variety of courses that are at the level he needs as well as a work experience course that helps him gain life experience in the field that he enjoys. There are not any obvious weaknesses as the High School administration and teachers are continually striving to change and grow as needed to provide outstanding academia. The atmosphere is one of fostering success in classes, responsibility, growth and spiritual growth and practicing their faith.

View full review

Vangie Brown - Parent   (Jan 23, 2018)

This is the only high school I am familiar with so it is hard to compare, but I believe the my children are receiving a good amount of challenge, combined with adequate encouragement and inspiration to push themselves to do their very best. A weakness of CHS is that the limited amount of students mean that classes are only offered once a year. For my son this meant that he had one semester that was very heavily loaded with challenging classes and no options for spares. However, this is a reality with a small school. The strength of this school is its teachers. They not only are knowledgeable, but they truly care about the students. They are supportive when the students are excelling and struggling. I feel that both my children will be adequately prepared for post-secondary education, should they choose that. I am concerned that the school is considering using the 4 point grading system. I strongly feel that grading with percentages encourages students to try to excel, whereas grading on a 4 point system will diminish motivation. PLEASE do not changed over to this type of "de-grading" system!!

View full review

Debbie Jensen - Parent   (Jan 20, 2018)

I consider the knowledge & passion of the teachers a strength of the academic program. A weakness would be the limited selection of electives (French was one subject that wasn’t offered when my children attended. I’m not sure if it is taught now.) Students are encouraged to reach their full potential academically & they have great support services for students needing extra help or modifications. The atmosphere was warm, inclusive & caring. Both our children who attended were well prepared for post-secondary education.

View full review

LeaAnne Ramer - Parent   (Jan 31, 2018)

This faith based school is highly appreciated by my husband and myself as well as our son attending. The culture of the school is rooted in faith and seeks Christ like action in how they interact with each other and students. While preparing our kids to have a firm foundation in their faith they do not let excellence in acedemics slide by the side. CHS pushes our kids to work hard and I believe sets them up for the next steps past high school.

View full review

Mark Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)

Opportunities are available for almost anything. The option to take college courses in high is present and a wide range of high school course options with excellent instructors.

View full review

View all reviews (21) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.